Land Acknowledgement

We acknowledge the traditional territories of the people of the Treaty 7 region in Southern Alberta, which includes the Blackfoot Confederacy (comprising the Siksika, Piikani, and Kainai First Nations), as well as the Tsuut’ina First Nation, and the Stoney Nakoda (including the Chiniki, Bearspaw, and Wesley First Nations).  The city of Calgary is also home to Métis Nation of Alberta, Region 3.  

Useful information on Land Acknowledgements from SFU

Why are territorial acknowledgements important?